5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Painted bumper chipping

Daddio

Reaction score
I've had my 2019 Ram Sport for less than 6 months and my front bumper has more than a dozen chips in the paint; most down to the white plastic or primer underneath the topcoat. Anybody else seeing lots of chipping?

I'm a paint chemist, and this should not be happening. Taking it into the dealer this week for some recalls and will be complaining.

Edwards

Ram Guru
Reaction score
I thought I was guaranteed of this happening so I put PPF on the entire front end two days after picking mine up. Not a chip so far. I've never seen a painted bumper not get chips and factored this extra cost (PPF) into my decision to order with painted bumpers.
This doesn't help you now but I don't think you'll get any sympathy from the dealer.

Biga

Ram Guru
Reaction score
I had PPF put on the front of my truck two weeks after I bought it. I just know from experiance that painted metal bumpers chip easily. The steel will not give when a rock hits it at 70 MPH and the paint chips, plastic car bumpers will deflect and absorb the impact some but steel is not as forgiving.

Last edited:
Reactions: Av1

Saints

Reaction score
I've had my 2019 Ram Sport for less than 6 months and my front bumper has more than a dozen chips in the paint; most down to the white plastic or primer underneath the topcoat. Anybody else seeing lots of chipping?

I'm a paint chemist, and this should not be happening. Taking it into the dealer this week for some recalls and will be complaining.