5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Idea for Dual Battery Setup

stlxzerox

Reaction score
I've been doing some research for a while regarding dual battery setups for my 2022 Ram 1500 Rebel and I've come to pretty much the same conclusion as everyone else here: aftermarket support is limited and there's very few ways to easily add a 2nd battery to the Ram without a lot of work like @RAM Patriot had to do.

I came up with one idea, however, that might need some validation from this community as I'm very new to Ram (6 months). I got the idea after I came across this YouTube video of someone gaining access behind the 2nd row of seats of their 4th gen Ram. I then did a search for thin Lithium batteries and came across this guy: 12V RAZORBACK- LiFePO4 - 138Ah - 1.76kWh - BigBattery.com
So, it got me thinking, would that battery be able to fit behind the 2nd row seats? It would solve the temperature issue of having a lithium battery in the engine bay. Wouldn't need to take up truck bed space (also extreme temp issues if in the cold). I think there's some drain holes or other areas you could run cables to/from the battery.

So, first question: can you get access to behind the 2nd row of a 5th Gen like you can in the video for the 4th Gen? Secondly, will that battery fit behind there somehow if you can gain access to it? If so, it would be simple to find a spot to mount a DC-DC charger and keep your battery in temp regulated environment.

Thanks!

Sascwatch

Ram Guru
Reaction score
Access behind the rear seats will take a bit of modification unless you have reclining rear seats. And depending on the way your truck is equipped space may be limited. The e-torque battery and subwoofer are behind the rear seats along with a few smaller modules.

stlxzerox

Reaction score