5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Factory trailer receiver play / slop

MrRoo

Reaction score
Has anyone else noticed a lot more play/slop with their factory receiver hitch in the 2019+ RAMs? I bought a 2019 2500 RAM back in September and it came with a 2.5" receiver so I ordered a new 2.5" weigh safe hitch for that and it has a lot of play in it. When I put the factory 2.5 to 2" adapter in there and used my 2" weigh safe hitch it actually felt perfect.

Skipping ahead to Dec I just got a 2020 RAM 1500 with the factory 2" receiver. I put that same 2" weigh safe hitch in and it has a lot of play in it. This is the same hitch I've been using on my 2016 RAM 1500 for the past 3 years and I never had an issue with play.

Now when I say play/slop I'm saying you can move the hitch up and down in the receiver, enough that you can hear it clunk around in the receiver going down the road with a trailer. Not something that inspires a lot of confidence when towing. It's also leaving groove marks in my hitch now which I never had before where the hitch and receiver edge meet.

Anyone else having this issue? Seems to only be an issue on the 2019+ RAMs but it's happening on both my 1500 and 2500 truck so it seems like the receivers are being manufactured out of spec.

IMG_2508.png

Rick3019

Reaction score
Has anyone else noticed a lot more play/slop with their factory receiver hitch in the 2019+ RAMs? I bought a 2019 2500 RAM back in September and it came with a 2.5" receiver so I ordered a new 2.5" weigh safe hitch for that and it has a lot of play in it. When I put the factory 2.5 to 2" adapter in there and used my 2" weigh safe hitch it actually felt perfect.