5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

DIY Oil Change Shopping list for the 5.7

I Love Grits

5thGenRams Supporter
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Has anyone here had any experience in doing maintenance work themselves and then having the dealer service something under warranty? Any tips to offer up? Guessing just to keep a record of the receipts and have that available should there be any issues with DIY maintenance?

SpeedyV

Ram Connoisseur
Staff member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Looks good to me! +1 on using the Fram and not a Mopar filter!
Funny...I was going to say that the only thing I'd change is to get rid of the Fram! But I've no experience with Mopar. I typically buy Purolator PureONE or Mobil 1 Extended Performance. If anyone really wants to geek out on this stuff, check out the forums at https://www.bobistheoilguy.com/.

firecadet613

Ram Guru
Reaction score
Has anyone here had any experience in doing maintenance work themselves and then having the dealer service something under warranty? Any tips to offer up? Guessing just to keep a record of the receipts and have that available should there be any issues with DIY maintenance?

Just keep receipts and a log of what you do and when... you'll be fine.

Funny...I was going to say that the only thing I'd change is to get rid of the Fram! But I've no experience with Mopar. I typically buy Purolator PureONE or Mobil 1 Extended Performance. If anyone really wants to geek out on this stuff, check out the forums at https://www.bobistheoilguy.com/.

I used Motorcraft filters with my F150 and no issues. Used a Mopar with this truck and tons of lifter noise at start up. 4th of July, only Walmart open, so Fram it was!

Kidder

Reaction score