5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cooper Discoverer A/T LT265/70R17 121S Tires - WHAT AM I MISSING?

HandyCruiser

Reaction score
I need a new set of tires for my 2003 Dodge Ram Quadcab. I've been running BFGoodrich Rugged Trails for about 15 years. But now they are hard to find and cost a pretty penny. Today I found these Cooper tires on the Walmart website and they are DIRT CHEAP. I know Cooper is a discount brand but they ain't bad. And these are 10-ply like the Rugged Trails. I just can't understand the low price. What am I missing?

They are $122 a piece at my local Walmart. Here's a link:

1627416270381.png

dwalme

Reaction score
Not sure but they could be a closeout model and they are clearing out old inventory.

Tires are dated and the older they get the tires might not get sold.

Luckily for tire dealers customers rarely if ever look at the date codes when they buy new tires.

Big operations don't mess around and clear out the old stock.

Last edited:

GKIII

Ram Guru
Reaction score
I also vote likely closeout model. I can't find any info for this specific model on Cooper's website.

As for Cooper Tire the brand, I like them and have been satisfied running their tires on most vehicles I've owned (except for the Scat Pack I no longer own) for the last 15 years.

Edit: Just noticed the "Only at Walmart"...which means Wal-Mart NOT Cooper warranties them...which may also explain the budget price. That's how the Wal-Mart exclusive Goodyear models work at least.

Last edited:

KRField

Reaction score
Go to discount tire and have them price match.

I saved $600 utilizing Walmart’s price on my 295/65/20 falken wildpeaks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Wsmith

Reaction score