5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best Weight Distribution System for towing a 5000 lb Travel Trailer

PaulR65

Reaction score
Hi All,
I am new to the Ram 1500, converting over to the Ram side after 20 years as a Ford F-150 guide. I really loved the new 2019 Ram when it came out, then saw it an auto show, the took some test drives and got a look at the internal and I have to same Ram really moved my needle!

As well I have always heard from a towing perspective that Ram's are the way to go because of their suspension. So that was a factor as well, not mention that when I towed with my 2017 F-150, and even with the mid-level tow package I was encountering that dreaded term "porpoising" so I had had enough - time to get new truck.

So I picked up my 2019 Ram 1500 on last week, and last Saturday I needed to tow our Travel Trailer as it's inspection and some warranty work had just been completed. Any case we currently have the Equalizer Weight Distribution system (unfortunately we have our TT off site) but I believe it's next version up from the base Equalizer WD system.

When we hooked up to our new 2019 Ram 1500, I noticed that the back really squatted down quite a bit, easily 2 inches if not more. I was a bit surprised, but all that being said it towed our trailer just fine but i did notice a bit of the "porpoising" though nowhere near my old 2017 F-150.

Our travel trailer is a MPG 2120, with a dry weight of 4941 lbs. With what we store in the front cabins of the trailer can't be any more than 100 lbs, but to be on the safe side we'll say the weight is closer to 5100 lbs total. So my question is, would it make sense to maybe adjust - up the WDH or possibly look into a new one, and if so, what would you recommend?