5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2021 RAM 1500 Trailer Suggestions?

jsxtreme01

Reaction score
Hello everyone.,

I am looking to purchase a 21 RAM 1500 Big Horn Crew Cab 4x4 6'4 Box BTS edition. It has the 5.7 eTorque, 3.92 axle and the trailer tow group packaging. My wife and I are looking to purchase a travel trailer to hopefully match this truck. I am a noob when it comes to travel trailers and figured you guys might be able to guide me. I have read numerous threads here and have a good understanding to not go over the payload of the truck. I know the truck is more than capable with the towing capacity. The truck is still in transit, so I have not seen the sticker on the door. Going off the RAM website (by VIN), it states its payload is 1,384. On the dealer website, it lists the payload as 1,660 and on the tow sheet it is 1,800. My first question is, without seeing the sticker in person, which number can I safely assume is the most accurate? I am going nuts trying to figure this out!

For background, it is myself, my wife and two kids (2.5, 10 months) that will be using the trailer. My second question is, what is the safest dry weight/tongue weight/GVWR that I should be aiming for? I absolutely will be using a WDH with it and have a hook up on air suspension if needed. What do you guys suggest? We have looked at the Keystone Bullet 243BHS (5,036 Dry, 1,464 Cargo, 615 hitch). Is this trailer safely doable with the above truck? I have yet to buy this truck and don't want to, if I cant tow that trailer or something similar. Thank you in advance. My brain is fried and looking for a pro to help me make a decision!

Last edited:

Jason605

Reaction score
I would go off the 1384 payload. You should be fine with that trailer.

jsxtreme01

Reaction score